International Journal for Academic Development (IJAD)

The International Journal for Academic Development (IJAD) is the journal of the International Consortium for Educational Development. The journal enables academic/educational developers in higher education across the world to exchange ideas about practice and extend the theory of educational development, with the goal of improving the quality of higher education internationally.

The journal is published by Taylor and Francis four times a year.

Click on these links for a list of contents or to obtain free downloads, sample copies and details about submitting articles to the journal.

Members of ICED constituent networks may receive a personal copy of the journal for £GBP 29 or $USD 47. Further details are available here.

The Editors of the Journal


Professor Peter Felten, Elon University, USA (POD),

Associate Professor Johan Geertsema, National University of Singapore (HERDSA),

Professor Klara Bolander Laksov, Stockholm University, Sweden (SWEDNET),

Dr Julie Timmermans, University of Otago, Aotearoa, New Zealand (HERDSA),

Associate Editors:

Dr Bonnie Dean, University of Wollongong, Australia (HERDSA),

Dr Anna Serbati, University of Padova, Italy (AsdUni) ),

Dr Roeland van der Rijst, Leiden University, The Netherlands (EHON),

Dr Suzanne Le-May Sheffield, Dalhousie University, Canada (STLHE),

Dr Henk Huijser, Queensland University of Technology, Australia,

Dr Kwong Nui Sim, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand ,

Dr Tracy Zou, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong (HERDSA),

Associate editor for Reflections papers:
Dr Roeland van der Rijst, Leiden University, The Netherlands (EHON),

Editor for book reviews:
Professor Klara Bolander Laksov, Stockholm University, Sweden (SWEDNET)

Editorial Board

Professor Angela Brew, Macquarie University, Australia
Professor Chrissie Boughey, Rhodes University, South Africa
Dr Barbara Grant, The University of Auckland, New Zealand
Dr David A. Green, Seattle University, USA
Professor Mick Healey, HE Consultant and Researcher, UK
Dr Katarina Mårtensson,  Lund University, Sweden (SWEDNET)
Professor Lynn McAlpine, Oxford University, UK
Professor Albert Pilot, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
Dr Torgny Roxa, Lund University, Sweden
Professor Lorraine Stefani, The University of Auckland, New Zealand.       
Dr Kathryn Sutherland , Victoria University of Wellington, Aotearoa New Zealand (HERDSA)
Dr K Lynn Taylor, University of Calgary, Canada

Member Organisations

We have 26 member organisations across the world. Click here to see a complete list, with their Council representatives

Starting a New Network

ICED encourages the formation of new national networks to support educational development.


Find out about the International Journal for Academic Development

Special subscription offer for individual members of ICED’s networks